Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn

I would like to take the time to acknowledge how thrilling and well written Gillian Flynn’s debut novel is. Never in my life have I read a story that is this brilliantly sinister, it would be cruel to say this debut novel is fantastic because it is much much more than that. This book keeps you guessing and then you finally think you’ve unraveled this mystery and find out you’ve been all wrong.

The ending is unpredicable and genius. At times the story is quite disturbing and I could never have imagined writing a story like this myself but than again Mrs. Flynn is in a own category of her own. 

The back cover of the book gives a hint of what its about but does not disclose how twisted this novel really is:

“It’s been a while.. But Camille Preaker has finally gone home. 

Sent to investigate the disappearance of two little girls Camille finds herself reluctantly installed in the family mansion, reacquainting herself with her distant mother and a precocious thirteen-year-old half sister she barely knows. Haunted by a family tragedy, troubled by the disquieting grip her young sister has on the town, Camille struggles with a familiar need to be accepted.

But as the clues turn into dead ends Camille finds herself identifying with the young victims and realises: she will have to unravel the puzzle of her own past if she’s to survive this homecoming. ” (Gillian Flynn, Sharp Objects 2006) 

Okay let me get into some things I didn’t appreciate in this novel, very difficult to say something I didn’t like but yes one thing I missed in the novel.

SPOILERS!!!!!!
Don’t continue if you don’t want to ruin the surprise!!

!!
To start off I like having a sense of completion  after finilizing a novel, basically I like a happy end. Yes, super cliché but I enjoy a twisting sinister novel but then I expect a somewhat “happy end”. I didn’t really have this in this book. I wanted Camille to end up with the investigator or with someone. She didn’t seem to receive the happy end she deserved after so much hurt in her life. Maybe Mrs. Flynn will continue Camille’s story and one day she will have her well deserved happy end, but that was the only thing I wanted the novel to contain, otherwise it was a masterpiece.
Overall rating: 4/5 

Have a great week !

Leave a Reply

